DBCP Building Excellence Awards 2022

Devon Building Control Building Local Awards 2022

The Devon Building Control Partnership promotes quality buildings and has recognised outstanding
construction projects through the presentation of our Building Excellence Awards since 2003.

Any building project for which we are providing the Building Control Service irrespective of size may be  considered for one of these prestigious awards.

The awards recognise excellent practice across a complete range of buildings projects – from major commercial developments to the construction of new homes, conversions, domestic extensions and sustainable development, with nominations made by our surveyors. These nominations are assessed based on:

  • Compliance with Building Regulations
  • Quality of construction
  • Supply of information regarding site inspections
  • Speed of fault rectification/willingness to discuss problems
  • Access for people with disabilities
  • Energy conservation and sustainability 


Devon Building Control Building Local Awards 2022 Image

 The Devon Building Control Partnership, which undertakes the Building Control functions for South Hams, Teignbridge and West Devon District Councils, held their annual Building Excellence Awards on Thursday, 19th May at Newton Abbot Racecourse where over a hundred Clients including Architects, builders and developers gathered to celebrate building excellence across the districts throughout 2021. The presentations were made by Anna Thompson, Local Authority Building Control’s (LABC) Head of Engagement and Councillor Mike Haines the current Chair of the DBCP Joint Committee

The projects were judged on a range of criteria including compliance with the Building Regulations, Accessibility and inclusive environment, Sustainability & energy conservation and Customer satisfaction.

The event was sponsored by national sponsors Actis and TechBuild.

Nigel Hunt, Head of The Devon Building Control Partnership said “We are delighted that we were able to hold the Awards in person after a break during the Pandemic. These awards have highlighted, yet again, the exceptional quality of construction projects being undertaken within the districts. It is also testament to the excellent customer focussed approach the DBCP has with clients which ensures such high standards of construction”

The projects that have been successful are also eligible for entry to the Regional LABC Building Excellence Awards to be judged later this year where, if successful, could be a finalist at the highly prestigious National Awards to be held in London.

The winners at the event include projects and people awards as follows:-

Best Barn Conversion

Shearlangstone Barn, Modbury - Silver  - Mr M Burton and Tom Pitt Builders
Daisy Barn, Blackawton - Gold - Damon Hunt, Nomad Construction and BBH Architects 

Best Class Q Barn Conversion

Middle Blagdon, Thorndon Cross - Silver - Mrs Law and Bevill Smithers
Babland Barn (Foxgloves), Modbury - Gold - Mr and Mrs Miller, Dave Hill Construction and BWW Design

Best Large Commercial Development

Guildhall and Police Station, Tavistock - Gold - Tavistock Town Council, RM Builders and Contractors, Gillespie Yunnie

Best Small Commercial Development

Sports Ground Pavilion, Hatherleigh - Silver - Hatherleigh Cricket Club, Shires Construction and Piper Architecture
Partridge Cycles, Kennford - Gold - Alex Partridge, RKH Construction and LHC Design

Best Conversion

2 Broad Leaf Park, Teignmouth - Gold - Mr and Mrs Creber and Alan Plunkett

Best Extension

4 Kingston Lane, Dartmouth - Silver - McClennon Developments
Wastor Farm, Lydford - Silver - Mr and Mrs Georgel, S H Construction and SW Architects
Shiverstone Farm, Dawlish - Gold - Mr and Mrs Spiller, Start 2 Finish Builders and Daniel Metcalfe

Best Extension and Refurbishment

Little Ravenswell, Kinsgwear - Silver - Mr and Mrs Acheson, McClennon Developments and Qube Architects
Old Rectory, Drewsteignton - Silver - Mr and Mrs Taylor, Goulden and Sons and Louise Crossman Architects
Dinahs Side, Dittisham - Gold - Mr and Mrs Campbell, Duffy Builders and BBH Architects

Best Garden Room

Woodcombe Point, Chivelstone - Silver - Mr and Mrs Newcombe, Marshall Building Maintenance and Derry Owen
Barn End, Christow - Gold - Corony Edwards, Start 2 Finish Builders and Daniel Metcalfe

Best Large Development

Kings Orchard, Stoke Gabriel - Gold - Cavanna Homes

Best Loft Conversion

9 Dart Marina, Dartmouth - Gold - Mr and Mrs Seager, Prestage and Hill, BBH Architects

Best New Dwelling

Normans, Daccombe - Silver - Sally Spokes, Lindsay Rogers and Coastal Building Design
Millbrook House, Kingsbridge  - Silver - Mr and Mrs Smith, Lilburne and Elliott and BBH Architects
Pinhays Park, South Milton - Silver - Mr and Mrs Mordue, Martin Barlow, Alex Gath
Leatside, Bovey Tracey - Gold - Mr M and Mrs S Cox, Intelligent Abodes, PMR Architecture

Best Small Development

Highwaymans Grove, Sourton - Silver - Stevens Homes and Heighway Field Associates
Kelly Mews, Kingsbridge - Silver - Kris Mahon, W M Construction and Andrew Lethbridge Ltd
Badlake Hill (Lynwood Wentworth and Grenville), Dawlish - Gold - Hannon Homes Ltd, Heighway Field Associates

People Awards

Best Residential and Small Commercial Designer

Malcolm Kingdon
Derry Owen Architects
Van Ellen Sheryn
James Dawson

Best Residential and Small Commercial Builder

Lilburn and Elliott Construction
Peter Cousens - Wyse Homes Ltd

Best Residential Site Manager

Pip Swann - Hembury Homes
George Tranckle - Cloud 9 Homes
Martin White

Best Partnership with a Local Authority Team

Cavanna Homes
New Space Architecture

Best Partnership - Technical Support Admin Award

Rogers and Jones